National Security Education Board

The 14-member National Security Education Board was established as part of NSEP, prescribed in the National Security Education Act of 1991, P.L. 102-183, December 1991, as amended. The National Security Education Board provides strategic consultation, as outlined in 50 U.S.C 1903. Oversight for the National Security Education Program is provided by the National Security Education Board, which meets "to review and make recommendations based on program mission and objectives.”

The National Security Education Board is comprised of six Presidential appointees, representatives at the Department of Defense, as well as representatives from seven additional Cabinet-level departments. The Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Personnel and Readiness (OSD/P&R) provides policy oversight to NSEP. Collectively the Board advises on NSEP’s administration.

The National Security Education Board’s Presidentially-appointed members include experts from non-profit organizations and academia. The Board provides value to NSEP by ensuring that its programs remain focused on efforts that serve the broad national security interests of the United States.

The National Security Education Board’s eight Cabinet-level members include representatives from the Department of Defense, Department of Commerce, Department of Energy, Department of Education, Department of Homeland Security, Department of State, The National Endowment for the Humanities, and The Office of the Director of National Intelligence.

The 2022 National Security Education Board members are as follows:


Mr. Sean Bigley, National Security Attorney and Managing Partner, Bigley Ranish, LLP

Dr. Sebastian Gorka, former Deputy Assistant for the President for Strategy

Mr. Henry B. Howard, President and CEO, U.S. Education Finance Group  


U.S. Department of Defense
Ms.  Shawn Skelly, Assistant Secretary of Defense for Readiness (Board Chair)

U.S. Department of Defense
Dr. Michael Nugent, Director, Defense Language and National Security Education Office (Designated Federal Official

U.S. Department of Commerce
Mr. Ruben Pedroza, Director, ITA Human Capital (People), International Trade Administration

U.S. Department of Education
Ms. Maureen McLaughlin, Senior Advisor to the Secretary of Education and Director of International Affairs

U.S. Department of Energy

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Mr. Matthew Emrich, Associate Director, Fraud Detection and National Security Directorate

U.S. Department of State

The National Endowment for the Humanities
Dr. Claudia Kinkela, Senior Program Officer, Division of Research Programs

The Office of the Director of National Intelligence

The current membership of National Security Education Board is available for download.